Canon MP140 printer / scanner


This is a slightly unusual post, in that there no real hacking or building involved, quite the contrary: it’s about how to dismantle an old/brokern printer to salvage its electronics and nice mechanical parts…

Finally, after one whole morning of (very pleasant) work in the burning London sun πŸ™‚ I managed to salvage:

  • 2 normal motors
  • 1 stepper motor
  • 1 controller board (which I imagine I won’t be able to re-use πŸ™‚ )
  • 3 optical sensors (probably the most useful of all this, I already have an idea of how to use them for my new BB airsoft tank !)
  • some nice mechanical belts
  • a few other useless things…

6 Responses to Canon MP140 printer / scanner

  1. Kushagra says:

    I had also torn apart the same printer/scanner a week ago. It was a rather broken one with wires nibbled by rats and lot of dust inside the printer with rusty motors. Luckily though the stepper motor in the scanner compartment was perfect, in which I was interested the most.

  2. Pingback: Stepper motor bluetooth serial driver | Robotics / Electronics / Physical Computing

  3. Pingback: Tiger 1 BB airsoft RC Tank – V2 « Robotics / Electronics / Physical Computing

  4. A B. says:

    My MP140’s been a pain in the neck. Seeing a tear down of one has helped me resist flinging it out the window.

Leave a comment